Das virtuelle Kafka-Bureau

The Project

No other modern author represents more literally the “madness of writing,” “through which every writer leaves behind the archive of his own erasure,” than the Prague writer and social insurance official Franz Kafka.  By crossing the procedures of bureaucratic administration with literary techniques such as citation, allusion, or echo to produce a unique, nomadic text-administration, the writer Franz Kafka becomes the recording clerk of his epoch.  Taking up the task that Theodor Herzl’s political manifesto “The Jewish State” assigned to the Society of Jews, the cultural organ of his State-founding project, Kafka’s literary work functions as a dynamic archive that collects “all of the proclamations of statesmen, parliaments, […] communities, associations, that appear in speech and in writing, in assemblies, newspapers and books,” and, going beyond Herzl’s assignment, sets them in resonance with each other, in series of dialogues without hierarchy.

Based on concepts from literary, media, and cultural studies and in the service of these fields, the Virtual Kafka-Bureau aims to open up the intertextual and transmedial space of Kafka’s work by creating a digital work environment for scholars. In the first stage of the project, Transcoop, a German-American research association (Siegen/Regensburg/HU Berlin/Tübingen and Princeton), financed by grants from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, is tapping the field of Kafka’s  “readings” – understood across multiple media – and registering them into a relational database called Kafka’s Virtual Media Library.

In the second stage of the project, the searchable records of the Media Library will be made navigable as a dynamic Kafka-Hypertext. The Virtual Kafka-Bureau is thus destined not only for literary, media and cultural scholars, but should also serve as a digital learning resource for schools (for the practice of text interpretation, reading techniques, historical contexts, etc.).

english versionenglish version

Das virtuelle Kafka-Bureau

Das Virtuelle Kafka-Bureau

Kein anderer moderner Autor steht wörtlicher für jenen "Wahnsinn des Schreibens", "durch den jeder Schreibende das Archiv seiner eigenen Auslöschung hinterlässt" , als der Prager Schriftsteller und Sozialversicherungsbeamte Franz Kafka. In seinem einzigartigen Schreibprojekt hat er für die Menschen und die Völker die Aufgabe übernommen, die in Theodor Herzls politischer Programmschrift ‚Der Judenstaat' dem kulturellen Organ seines Staatsgründungsprojekts, der Society of Jews, zufällt. Indem er Verfahren der Bürotechnik und der Administration mit literarischen Techniken und Effekten des Zitats, der Anspielung, des Echos etc. zu einer einzigartigen, nomadischen Textverwaltung kreuzt, wird der Schriftsteller Franz Kafka zugleich zum Schriftführer seiner Zeit. Sein literarisches Werk fungiert so als dynamisches Archiv, welches "alle Kundgebungen der Staatsmänner, Parlamente, […]gemeinden, Vereine, die in Wort und Schrift, in Versammlungen, Zeitungen und Büchern hervorkommen", sammelt und, in Überschreitung des zitierten Auftrags, miteinander in Resonanz, in hierarchielose Serien von Dialogen setzt.

Das Virtuelle Kafka-Bureau zielt darauf ab, den transtextuellen und transmedialen Raum des Kafka'schen Werks auf der Grundlage literatur-, medien- und kulturwissenschaftlicher Konzepte als digitales Arbeitsumfeld für Literatur-, Medien- und Kulturwissenschaftler sowie weitere Nutzergruppen zu erschließen. Das erste Forschungsprojekt, das derzeit mit Transcoop-Mitteln der Alexander-von Humboldt-Stiftung als deutsch-amerikanischer Forschungsverbund (Siegen/Regensburg/HU Berlin/ Tübingen und Princeton) finanziert wird, erschließt und verdatet zunächst das Feld der - intermedial verstandenen - Kafka'schen Lektüren in Form einer relationalen Datenbank (Kafkas Virtuelle Mediathek).

Ein zweites, derzeit im Aufbau befindliches Forschungsprojekt (Kafkabureau.net/LiMeS) wird eine neuartige digitale Arbeitsumgebung zur Erschließung und Verwaltung multimedialer intertextueller Räume zur Verfügung stellen. Darüber hinaus adressiert das Virtuelle Kafka-Bureau nicht nur die Literatur-, Medien- und Kulturwissenschaften, sondern es soll auch als Ressource für digitale Lernumgebungen im Bereich des Schulunterrichts (im Hinblick die Einübung von Texterschließung, Lektüretechniken, historischen Kontexten etc.) dienen.

english versionenglish version